From: Stubblefield, Andy [ATHDP] astubb@iastate.edu
Subject: Iowa State Crowns Five Champions at Cyclone Open
Date: January 19, 2025 at 4:52 PM
To: Stubblefield, Andy [ATHDP] astubb@iastate.edu

Media contact Andy Stubblefield Assistant Director / Communications 515-294-2008 office 712-898-6771 mobile <u>astubb@iastate.edu</u>



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Jan. 19, 2025

Iowa State Crowns Five Champions at Cyclone Open

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State crowned five champions Sunday afternoon at the Cyclone open. Kysen Terukina (125), Evan Frost (133), Jacob Frost (141), Paniro Johnson (149) and Daniel Herrera (285) all won their respective brackets.

lowa State saw runner-up finishes by Cody Chittum (157), Aiden Riggins (165) and Sawyer Bartelt (197). The Cyclones had double finalists at 133 (E. Frost & Garrett Grice) and 149 (Johnson & Kane Naaktgeboren) which resulted in a no contests in the finals.

Terukina went 4-0 and capped his performance with a 4-2 decision over Nebraska's Alan Koehler in the finals.

At 133 pounds, E. Frost started his day 2-0 before running into teammates in the semifinals and finals. Those matches were not contested.

J. Frost tallied three major decisions as part of a 4-0 day to win the 141-pound bracket. The Cyclone defeated Nebraska's Blake Cushing in the finals.

Johnson extended his winning streak to nine-consecutive matches with a 3-0 day to reach the 149-pound finals.

Herrera had a 4-0 day to bring home the heavyweight title with his best win coming against Missouri's No. 18 Seth Nitzel, 6-3, in the semifinals.

###

цh

Andy Stubblefield Athletics Communications Specialist (WR, No. 2 FB) Iowa State Athletics astubb@jastate.edu O: (515) 294-2008 C: (712) 898-6771

Cyclone Open Brackets_FINAL .pdf 916 KB AS